Look, Mom! I’m awake!

It’s too early to be alive.

Classes are canceled today. Not because of the snowpocalypse, but because there’s a conference today.

I thought I’d take this oppotunity to sleep in. I forgot yesterday I set my alarm for 6 am so I could sign up for housing. I didn’t remember I did this until 6 am, when the alarm scared me so much I shot out of bed and karate-chopped my headboard and hurt my hand in the process. Jackie Chan I am not.

It’s dark. The sun isn’t even up yet. I love that feeling early in the morning when everything’s quiet except for the occasional passing car. Everything is covered in white, and the snow mutes the sound of tires . Lights from streetlamps illuminate the view and shed a spotlight on the crisp, falling snow.

Maybe I’ll stay up and watch the sunrise, staring at the window until the rest of the world wakes up.

Hey, I’ve got my housing decided for next year. Why not?

On second thought, I’m exhausted. My pillow is calling.

3 responses

  1. Glad to see I am not the only one up early! (Welcome to my world.)

    I can’t believe you already have snow there. We have nothing but gray skies. But the schools are all closed, as well as some offices (like your grandmother’s office). Of course, we still have school and your father is at work.

    Enjoy your day off!

  2. Muuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuch better story than the Aztec “culture” piece. Yuck.

    Working for a living isn’t all flowers and sunshine, I guess.

    1. Haha! Hey, I do my best with what I’ve got.

Leave a Reply

The Greatest Tragedy

"Start a blog" They said... "It'll be fun" They said...

Books & Black Licorice

Uncharted Territory: one undergrad's unremarkable life

actions speak louder

a blog stating actions speak more loudly than words. go figure.

It's On My To Do List

Catholic mom, wife, and homeschooler--just trying to keep my sanity one to-do list at a time

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

